Richinbar Mine

Richinbar Mine
Richinbar Mine - Photo from 1940 - Courtesy of Arizona Geologic Survey files

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Humbug Open House

Mill at Humbug Creek

The public was invited to the Humbug Open House on March 3rd, sponsored by Dave Burns, Neal Du Shane, and the Arizona Pioneer and Cemetery Research Project.  This is an annual event that offers a rare view of one of Arizona's best-preserved ghost towns.  Dave led several groups through a tour of the original home-site of Charles Champie, the original smelter, the home of Frank Hyde, the cemetery, and mill.  You can read more about the history of Humbug by referring to this link History of Humbug.

Neal led our caravan of vehicles about 10 miles north of Lake Pleasant on Saturday morning.  The route passed through several gates that were unlocked for the open house.  Small group tours were offered to the Columbia and El Paro Bonito mines.  At its peak, approximately 200 people lived at Humbug.  The current owners are working to preserve the remaining structures, while providing the public with an opportunity to enjoy a day learning about one of Arizona's unique ghost towns.

No comments:

Post a Comment